My daughter’s school admission

My daughter is turning 3 and she would be going to school from next year. Getting admission in a Bangalore school is really difficult and I finally managed to get admission in Greenwood High (www.greenwoodhigh.com) . I was trying for three schools in Kormangala as it would be near to home and creche.

NPS – They clearly said while giving out forms that its tough to get admission there. They have two parallel systems – Montessory and Nursary. For Montessory, my daughter is over-age and for nursary, she is under-age. Funny thing. Never have a baby in December!!!

Bethany High – The entire process is very cumbersome. I have to write an application to get an application form. With the application form, address proof, birth certificate and medical certificate (yes, its true) has to attached. They don’t have the bus facility for pre-nursery and nursery students, so though this school has the best location for me, it will not fit nicely. After submitting the form, I was told to remember the form number. They will display the list of candidates for interview on 20th December and they will just display the form number there. Overall experience was not very nice and it gave a government school kind of impression.

Greenwood High – This school is from the same management as Bethany high. The queue is very long and the school in Koramangla is upto UKG only. The main school is on Sarjapur Road. The school has created a good impression and has grown rapidly, one indicator is that their admission fee is doubling every year!!

Of the above, Greenwood seemed to be the best choice.

These schools are pretty expensive. Not sure trying admission in these schools is the right thing to do as I also believe that I don’t have to spend that much money to get good education for my kid.

7 Responses to “My daughter’s school admission”

  1. GJ Says:

    What has been your experience at Greenwood High so far? I am considering getting my son admitted there. Since I need to decide in the next 48 hrs, it would help greatly if I could get some feedback from you

  2. ashishgarg Says:

    So far, it has good. What I have come to realize is at this age, school is just the teacher. My daughter’s teacher is pretty good.

    School puts lot of emphasis on extra curricular learning like painting, dancing, games etc. This keeps the child really engaged and till date my daughter has never said that she doesn’t want to go to school 🙂 Negatives for me was that bus service didn’t work out for me, so I have to go and pick up my daughter from the school. I am sure they could have done a better job there.

    Let me know if you want to know something specific.

  3. GJ Says:

    Thanks Ashish. Can I talk to you to get more inputs? Can you also elaborate on the bus issue? I presume you are sending your daughter to the Koramangala school. I live on Bannerghatta Road (Mantri Elegance) and I am not sure if I will have the same bus issues. I obviously cannot do the drop pick-up every day given the distance

  4. Vidooshak Says:

    The details on the various school processes were quite useful. Maybe you should do detailed posts on specifics of each school an tips on how to secure admission 😉

  5. Pirsey Says:

    My fellow on Orkut shared this link and I’m not dissapointed that I came to your blog.

  6. joji Says:

    Established in 1997, St. Gregorious Edu-Guidance is a leading education consultancy services providing exemplary service to students all over India. We deal in Admissions to all major professional courses in Premier Institutes across India. We are your one step solution for all career related needs, it may be MD, MBBS BE, BTech (ALL BRANCHES), , MDS, BDS, BPharm, BArch, MBA, MTech, MS, , PhD or any other courses. We provide personalized career solutions on an individual basis keeping in mind the aspirations of our client as well as the affordability factor.
    FOR ALL CAREER RELATED NEEDS CONTACT US :
    St. Gregorious Edu-Guidance,
    #2, 2nd Floor,
    J J Complex, Above Chemmannur Jewellers,
    Marthahalli – P O,
    Bangalore – 560037
    Karnataka
    e-mail :jojishpaily@gmail.com
    Contact: +91 9448516637
    +91 9886089896, +91 9449009983
    080-32416570, 41719562

  7. MS admission consultant Says:

    Hello there! Quick question that’s totally off topic. Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly? My site looks weird when browsing from my iphone 4. I’m
    trying to find a template or plugin that might be able
    to fix this problem. If you have any suggestions, please share.
    With thanks!

Leave a Reply

